Study

Patience

Patience vs Anger

How is your patience meter? Are you running on empty more often than not. If I’m being honest with myself, I can be pretty impatient. There is something inside of me that just naturally wants things done my way. You can see how this could be a problem.

“This you know, my beloved brethren. But everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger; for the anger of man does not achieve the righteousness of God.” – James 1:19

I use to be known for saying “I’m so irritated right now.” It was what I thought was a nice way of expressing the fact that someones actions bothered me and that it some how made me look better to be irritated rather than upset when something didn’t go my way. With hindsight I see that I was very impatient. If people didn’t agree with me, act in a way I approved of, move when I said move, or inconvenienced me in anyway I would become annoyed, frustrated and irritated. What I should have done is been patient. I should have persevered and given the situation time for us to see eye to eye. I should have been mindful of the fact that everyone is in different places in their lives and don’t always do things the same way or with the same timing, and I should have been patient by putting other peoples needs, wants or feelings before my own.

Do not be eager in your heart to be angry, for anger resides in the bosom of fools. – Ecclesiastes 7:9

And a fool I was. Never satisfied or content and never fully devoted to anything that did not produce gratification soon enough. Patience can be the difference in us walking in the fullness of God’s will or walking in our own. By not being patient we make decisions out of fear, rather than hope and faith, we stifle the flame in others, and we miss out on the chance to grow.


The Virtue of Patience

Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary. – Galations 6:9

But if we hope for what we do not see, with perseverance we wait eagerly for it. -Romans 8:25

And not only this, but we also exult in or tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us. -Romans 5:3-5

Patience is a virtue. I’m not sure who coined that term, but it is illustrated in the bible enough to make it a fact. If we dedicate our minds and hearts toward growing in patience then we will reap the fruit of our labor (Gal 6:9). God will see us pressing on and bless us for it. What are some areas you feel the weariness of pressing on? Take those things to God believing that you will reap according to His will.

“The Lord is not slow about His promise, as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing for any to perish but for all to come to repentance.”- 2 Peter 3:9

Take Away

God is extremely patient towards us, so we have all the more reason to be patient with each other and patiently wait on the promises of God.

2 thoughts on “Patience

Leave a Reply

