Devotion

When Sacrificing Time Isn’t Enough

By: Sharisse Scott

veri-ivanova-17904.jpg
Photo credit: Unsplash.com

“Spend time with The Lord in prayer”, they said. “Read and study your Word”, they said. Don’t get me wrong, these things are very necessary in building a strong relationship with our Savior but sometimes it takes that and more… much more.

Like many others, when I first learned about fasting, I wasn’t particularly thrilled about it. It sounded like a lot of hard work and sacrifice involved and I didn’t want any part of it. But also like many others, I have learned that fasting is as much of an intricate part in building  our relationship with Christ just as reading the Word, praying and worshiping God is.

Sacrificing our natural food allows us to be more aware and receptive of the spiritual food that God has for us which is so much more satisfying and fulfilling than what this world has to offer.

Another thing I have learned is that fasting isn’t just limited to turning away from food. Sacrificing the things we really love like TV, Facebook, YouTube,  etc., are also ways that we can dedicate our lives and hearts to The Lord during our times of fasting.

Overall, whichever way we do it, as long as we do it with the right heart and spirit, God will receive the glory from our fasting and our sacrifices unto Him and we will receive a deeper, closer relationship with Him and to me, that sounds like a pretty good exchange.

Scripture Highlight
Isaiah 58:6 NIV
“Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen: to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free and break every yoke?”

Commit it to Prayer
Dear God,
I pray that during my times of fasting that my knowledge and understanding of You and Your Word grows stronger in my mind and that I grow closer to Your Spirit. Help me to remain disciplined and be led by You in my fasting. In Jesus’ Name,  Amen.

Sowing Seeds
Have you been feeling led to fast but putting it off because of different reasons? Well today, I encourage you to make fasting a lifestyle. Try starting off with fasting once a month even if it’s just for a few hours. Make it a habit that you don’t ever want to break, you won’t regret it.


About the Author 

Sharisse Scott is a devoted wife and mother who loves her husband and three beautiful children very much. The only person she loves more is God. She has a strong desire to fulfill His purpose for her life to the best of her ability each day. Sharisse says, “I am honored to have the opportunity to be a part of this awesome ministry of empowering, uplifting and encouraging women. It is so vital today in our society as wives and mothers, and as Sisters in Christ.” Her hope is to be a blessing to others with her writing.
Be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

