Devotion

Resting in the Lord

Rest in the Lord

By: Coach Nay

cat-2377351_640
Photo credit: Pixabay.com

 

Am I the only person who likes making a to do list and being able to check everything off? I doubt it. The reward of getting things done can sometimes cause me to constantly look for something to do, achieve, organize…you get the point. I have to be very intentional about slowing down and resting in the Lord.

In my home, we work at being very productive during the week so we can relax on Saturday. We do groceries and clean throughout the week, so on Saturday we are free to do something fun or nothing at all. We like to spend our rest days together and because the church we go to offers a Saturday service in addition to two Sunday services, we usually go to church Saturday evening.

One thing I’ve done in the past that I plan to start doing again is having private time with God during my rest day. I would either worship, read or pray. It’s something I plan on doing regularly again, because connecting with God is so important.

Having a day to relax and have fun is a blessing, but it is only a physical reminder to rest in God spiritually. I don’t have to stress over not being perfect or worry about the future. Jesus died for our sins, which means my life is in Gods hands. I belong to Him and I can rest assured that all of my imperfections, flaws and inabilities are covered by the blood.


Take Away

I encourage you to take time to rest in the Lord. Lay your to do list to the side, and spend time meditating on Gods word, in prayer or in worship. I guarantee it will be more fulfilling than checking off any list.


“Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him.”- Psalms 37:7

“Come to me, all who are weary and heavy-laden and I will give you rest.”- Matthew 11:28

 

2 thoughts on “Resting in the Lord

Leave a Reply

