Devotion

What is Your Purpose?

By: Sharisse Scott

network-1989146_640
Photo Credit: Pixabay.com

If you’re anything like me, you’ve gone through life for a while hopelessly wondering what your purpose is. I have spent many days/nights crying out to God asking “What am I here for?” Feeling like the only purpose I served was being a wife and mother started to drive me spiritually insane. Don’t get me wrong, I love my family but I just desired more. More of God and more from Him.  
 
One day, I had a conversation with someone who asked me what I felt like my purpose was. I told them that I didn’t really know and that I was still trying to figure that out. They started to ask questions about what I loved to do and what I was passionate about. I answered reluctantly because I didn’t see the purpose of the questions (no pun intended), but as she kept talking, it started to become clearer to me.  
 
She said to me, “Your overall purpose is ultimately to bring glory to The Father in everything that you do through the gifts He has given you.” So simple, right? 
 
It’s like a lightbulb popped on in my head at that moment. It made so much sense. I don’t know why I hadn’t realized that myself. I was searching for this grand life purpose to fulfill when ultimately, my grand purpose is to just glorify God in everything, no matter what. 
 
So if you have a gift to sing, sing with all your heart in glorification to The Father. If you are passionate about writing, glorify God while doing so. Or if your ministry is helping others, do it with a heart of glorifying God. No matter what it is, we must serve our ultimate purpose of glorifying God in all that we do, every chance we get.  


1 Corinthians 10:31 NIV
 “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” 


Dear Heavenly Father,  
Help me to realize, understand and never forget my ultimate purpose in this life You have given me. I pray that You will always receive the glory from my life each day as I strive to fulfill this calling. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.


More great post from Sharisse Scott: MommyLife, Grace for Greatness, The Family Calendar

One thought on “What is Your Purpose?

Leave a Reply

